Back to School Dates in Australia 2019

When does the 2019 school year start?

The School Year start dates vary by state and territory throughout Australia. Each State and Territory Government sets its school start dates. Independent and Catholic schools tend to base their school start times around the Government school dates, but they do not always perfectly align. There are four terms throughout the school year, so it is important to make a note of the start date and end date for each term.

Why are the Back to School dates different from school to school?

Sometimes within a state or territory, there can be varied start dates depending on issues within a particular education system such as building maintenance, teacher professional development or special programs for students. All of these types of situations can cause delays or changes to the school term dates. In some cases, it is important also to make a note of the year your student is in as they may have different start and end dates depending on their year in school. For example, in some schools, the Year 12 students will not complete a full term four but take a break and return only for their Final exams.

Where is the back to school dates listed?

For the most accurate up to date information, the best choice is usually the school’s website. Many schools list their school term dates on their site detailing important start and end dates. Sometimes you will need to search a name like “school year calendar” or “term dates” to find it on the school’s web site. To search your school’s website, you will want to go to the site and see if they have a search bar on their site. Many school websites do. Once you find the search bar on the site, you can type in your search term. You also may have received the full school year calendar as an attachment in an email from the school. Below you will find a table that lists when schools are starting in the various Territories and States throughout Australia. This information was gathered from resources, such as, Australian Government and the Department of Education and Training.

If you have not had any luck finding your school specifically, you can probably get an idea of the dates from the Tables below. The tables detail the Term dates set out by Territory and State for the government funded schools. The tables features for 2017 terms as well as 2018.

Australian Capital Territory

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 Start Date
Term 1 Monday 9 October Friday 15 December Monday 15 October Friday 21 December
Term 2 Monday 17 July Friday 22 September Monday 23 July Friday 28 September
Term 3 Wednesday 26 April Friday 30 June Monday 30 April Friday 6 July
Term 4 Monday 30 January Friday 7 April Monday 5 February Friday 13 April

New South Wales

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Monday 30 January*Eastern Division Friday 7 April Tuesday 30 January *Eastern Division Friday 13 April
Term 1 Monday 6 February**Western Division Friday 7 April Tuesday 6 February **Western Division Friday 13 April
Term 2 Wednesday 26 April Friday 30 June Tuesday 1 May Friday 6 July
Term 3 Tuesday 18 July Friday 22 September Tuesday July 24 Friday 28 September
Term 4 Monday 9 October Friday 15 December Monday 15 October Wednesday 19 December

Northern Territory

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Monday 30 January*Urban Schools Friday 7 April Monday 29 January *Urban Schools Friday 13 April
Term 1 Tuesday 31 January **Remote Schools Friday 7 April Tuesday 30 January **Remote Schools Friday 13 April
Term 2 Tuesday 18 April Friday 23 June Monday April 23 Friday 29 June
Term 3 Tuesday 25 July Friday 29 September Tuesday July 24 Friday 28 September
Term 4 Monday 9 October *Urban Schools Thursday 14 December Monday 15 October *Urban Schools Thursday 13 December
Term 4 Monday 9 October **Remote Schools Friday 15 December Monday 15 October **Remote Schools Friday 14 December

Queensland

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Monday 23 January Friday 31 March Monday 22 January Thursday 29 March
Term 2 Tuesday 18 April Friday 23 June Monday 16 April Friday 29 June
Term 3 Monday 10 July Friday 15 September Monday 16 July Friday 21 September
Term 4 Monday 3 October Friday 8 December Monday 8 October Friday 14 December
Term 4 Year 12 -
17 November
Year 10 & 11 - 24 November
Year 12 -
16 November
Year 10 & 11 - 30 November

South Australia

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Monday 30 January Thursday 13 April Monday 29 January Friday 13 April
Term 2 Monday 1 May Friday 7 July Monday 30 April Friday 6 July
Term 3 Monday 24 July Friday 29 September Monday 23 July Friday 28 September
Term 4 Monday 16 October Friday 15 December Monday 15 October Friday 14 December

Tasmania

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Wednesday 8 February Thursday April 13 Wednesday 7 February Friday 13 April
Term 2 Monday 1 May Friday 7 July Monday 30 April Friday 6 July
Term 3 Monday 24 July Friday 29 September Monday 23 July Friday 28 September
Term 4 Monday 16 October Friday 21 December Monday 15 October Thursday 20 December

Victoria

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Tuesday 31 January Friday 31 March Tuesday 30 January Thursday 29 March
Term 2 Tuesday 18 April Friday 30 June Monday 16 April Friday 29 June
Term 3 Monday 17 July Friday 22 September Monday 16 July Friday 21 September
Term 4 Monday 9 October Friday 22 December Monday 8 October Friday 21 December

Western Australia

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Wednesday 1 February Friday 7 April Wednesday 31 January Friday 13 April
Term 2 Monday 24 April Friday 30 June Monday 30 April Friday 29 June
Term 3 Monday 17 July Friday 22 September Monday 16 July Friday 21 September
Term 4 Monday 9 October Thursday 14 December Monday 8 October Thursday 13 December

Independent schools and free schools

The independent and private schools have many different start dates. While they use the guidelines of the government schools, they have more flexibility to change their dates based on many factors including religious holidays. The table below details some of the independent schools start dates as found on the independent school association page for the South Australia area. It is always best to double check your specific school’s website or call the school directly.

Association for Independent schools of South Australia *

2017 Start Date 2017 End Date 2018 Start Date 2018 End Date
Term 1 Monday 30 January Thursday 13 April Monday 29 January or Monday 5 February Friday 13 April
Term 2 Monday 1 May Friday 30 June or Friday 7 July Monday 30 April Friday 29 June or Friday 6 July
Term 3 Monday 24 July or Monday 31 July Friday 29 September Monday 23 July Friday 28 September
Term 4 Monday 16 October Friday 8 December or Friday 15 December Monday 15 October Tuesday 11 December

*This is a guide; some schools might begin their Term 1 a week early. These schools will then take a three week break in April or July.